Last Updated: Sep 28, 2016
Booklist offers reliable reviews, an extensive website and database, and other resources that support librarians in collection development and readers' advisory.
- Horn Book
Horn Book features commentary, articles, book reviews of selected new titles, and other information related to children's and young adult literature.
- Publishers Weekly
Publishers Weekly features business news, reviews, bestseller lists.
- School Library Journal
The School Library Journal features articles and reviews for school librarians who work with young people.
Voice of Youth Advocates, or (VOYA) is a library journal dedicated to the promotion of young adult literature and reading.
URL for Office 365: https://portal.microsoftonline.com
Student log on: firstname.lastname@example.org
There will be a bit of setup the first time a student uses Office 365. Some will have to set the Language Display (English-Canada) and Time Zone (Saskatchewan). Then click on Save and the Outlook Tab will open.
What wil the students see? Across the top are tabs. Each tab will take you to a different area: Outlook, Calendar, People, OneDrive (renamed from SkyDrive), Sites.
- Atlas of Canada
Comprehensive collection of maps and related information about Canada, with effective and intuitive tools for users to access them
- CIA World Fact Book
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Concise, reliable, and up-to-date country reports on 200 cultures of the world.
- Dictionary – Thesaurus – Rhyming
- Encyclopedia of Life
Encyclopedia of Life is a compilation of scientific knowledge about all living things.
- Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan
The encylopedia details the natural and cultural legacy of Saskatchewan.
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus
As an online version of Merriam-Webster's Intermediate Dictionary, it also contains a thesaurus, synonyms, related words, idiomatic phrases, and antonyms.
- Online Language Dictionaries
Free online bilingual dictionaries and tools.
- Periodical and Informational Databases for Saskatchewan Schools
The databases are provided to all Saskatchewan schools and Saskatchewan Libraries. Home access may require passwords.
Wikipedia is a free encyclopedia that anyone can edit.
- World Atlas
World Atlas is an educational resource for world maps, atlases, and in-depth geography information.
Periodical and Informational Databases for Saskatchewan Schools
Saskatoon Public Library
Saskatchewan currently uses the Common Framework of Reference (CFR) to provide language proficiency information about our English language learners. More information can be found on the Ministry of Education's Web Site. Here you will find A Guide to Using the CFR With EAL Learners that can be used when establishing a student's benchmark level and monitoring student progress.